Sacrifice = Dance > Beach

I found the math equation that is going to describe my entire year on this journey to becoming a professional dancer:

Sacrifice = Dance > Beach

This week was a tough one for me as I’m still a little homesick and I have a lot of adjustments happening to my schedule since starting my new role at my job. I have also been quite overwhelmed trying to figure out how my work schedule and my dance schedule are going to fit together.  Eventually, once the adjustment period ends, I know the two will come together. But for now I am freaking out just a tad because I like schedules and organizing my life. Until then I am still in training and the show must go on!

I’ve started taking some dance classes as my current schedule, and of course finances, permit. My original strategy for the year was to start taking classes at the beginner level because these classes were safe. They advertise for dancers with little or no experience, so I knew for a fact that I wouldn’t look like a fool and that I wouldn’t be the worst one in the class. Last week I started with Beginner Ballet, Beginner Lyrical, and Beginner/Elem Contemporary.

I thought that I would stay in the beginner classes for a few months and then as the year went on I would move my way up. Well, my time in the beginner classes didn’t last months; they didn’t even last one week . As I sought out advice on building a “full time” dance schedule I was told to take more advanced classes.  I knew I could probably take the more advanced classes, but they were really intimidating because they were filled with dancers who had real experience… dancers who have been dancing their whole life. Not people like me.

And that brings me to my math equation…

My first realization of this math equation was when I was invited to go to the beach with my friends. There was an intermediate lyrical class going on at the same time, but because I’ve only had two formal lyrical classes under my belt (from last week!) I was a little nervous to be taking one at the highest level offered by this particular dance school in Sydney. I was torn because I knew I should take the class, but I rather go to the beach and avoid it all together. My friend who invited me told me I should go to the class because I committed to this journey and taking this class was part of that (and that’s why it’s amazing to have friends that support you!) I knew she was right… Sacrifice = Dance > Beach 

As I reflected on making this one, small decision about picking dance over the beach I quickly understood that this math equation isn’t limited to just the beach. This journey is going to be full of sacrifices…giving up time with my friends because I have a dance class, or having to wake up early. I’m sacrificing my time at home in order to work so I can pay for my classes. There are going to be so many sacrifices I am going to be making this year.  But the biggest sacrifice by far will be sacrificing my comfort zone in order to make a change in myself. Taking this step to follow my dream is a huge leap out of my comfort zone. I’ve realized that I need to sacrifice my self- doubt and seeing myself as “not good enough”. I need to stop feeling intimidated by others, thinking that I don’t belong in these advance dance classes, or the dance industry, and feeling left out for no reason.  I need to sacrifice the thought of thinking that putting this much effort into training to become a professional dancer is stupid. I believe what I’ve realized in the past week is a really important step in this journey. The real equation isn’t Sacrifice = Dance > Beach. It actually is…

Sacrifice = Dream 

Leave a comment